The ramparts of Quebec City is a city wall that surrounds the western end of Old Quebec's Upper Town in Quebec City, Quebec, Canada. They date back to the 17th century, with the ramparts having undergone a succession of modifications and improvements throughout their history.
Porte Saint-Louis Porte Saint-Louis was the third gate we encountered, built over Rue Saint-Louis. Just like Porte Saint-Jean, it dates back to at least 1694 and was demolished in 1791. After being rebuilt and reconstructed over the years, the present gate was established by Lord Dufferin in 1880. There are pedestrian tunnels on either side of the road, and one central tunnel over the street.
View from river of Old Quebec City. Château Frontenac (1893) Built on the site of Fort Saint-Louis and Château Haldimand, this prestigious hotel has become the symbol of Québec City. University on the far right side.
The historic heart of Quebec City has been on UNESCO’s prestigious world heritage list since 1985, as it is the vibrant cradle of French America and is still surrounded by its fortifications.
To the left, Chalmers-Wesley United Church Built in 1853, this church has magnificent stained-glass windows, superb woodwork and a century-old organ, which was restored in 1985 and in 2013. The slender steeple 177 feet high is a fine example of neo-Gothic architecture. Chalmers-Wesley United Church shares this house of worship with the French-speaking Saint-Pierre congregation.
Parliament Buildings Capital of Quebec
Variety of Foods we eat.